The 23rd Screen Actors Guild Award Predictions

By Livia Peterson

The 23rd Screen Actors Guild Awards will air on TNT and TBS during 8pm Eastern Time, 7pm Central Time, and 5pm Pacific Time on Sunday, January 29, 2017. The following predictions are based on my gut instinct and the precursor awards.

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Leading Role
Amy Adams, “Arrival”
Emily Blunt, “The Girl on the Train”
Natalie Portman, “Jackie”
Emma Stone, “La La Land”
Meryl Streep, “Florence Foster Jenkins”
 
Could Win: Meryl Streep, “Florence Foster Jenkins”
Should Win: Emma Stone, “La La Land”
Will Win: Emma Stone, “La La Land”

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Leading Role
Casey Affleck, “Manchester by the Sea”
Andrew Garfield, “Hacksaw Ridge”
Ryan Gosling, “La La Land”
Viggo Mortenson, “Captain Fantastic”
Denzel Washington, “Fences”
 
Could Win: Denzel Washington, “Fences”
Should Win: Casey Affleck, “Manchester by the Sea”
Will Win: Casey Affleck, “Manchester by the Sea”

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Supporting Role
Viola Davis, “Fences”
Naomie Harris, “Moonlight”
Nicole Kidman, “Lion”
Octavia Spencer, “Hidden Figures”
Michelle Williams, “Manchester by the Sea”

Could Win: Naomie Harris, “Moonlight”
Should Win: Viola Davis, “Fences”
Will Win: Viola Davis, “Fences”

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Supporting Role
Mahershala Ali, “Moonlight”
Jeff Bridges, “Hell or High Water”
Hugh Grant, “Florence Foster Jenkins”
Lucas Hedges, “Manchester by the Sea”
Dev Patel, “Lion”

Could Win: Jeff Bridges, “Hell or High Water”
Should Win: Lucas Hedges, “Manchester by the Sea”
Will Win: Mahershala Ali, “Moonlight”

Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture
“Fences”
“Hidden Figures”
“Moonlight”
“Manchester by the Sea”
“Captain Fantastic”
 
Could Win: “Moonlight”
Should Win: “Manchester by the Sea”
Will Win: “Manchester by the Sea”

20th Century Women (2016)

The Founder (2016)